What do you tell customers when the grass doesn't grow?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by 2006Silverado, Oct 17, 2007.

1. 2006Silverado

2006Silverado LawnSite Member
    from GA

This is part vent, part seeking advice. Have a HOA that I mow. Every other week. They are cheapskates, the community isn't full, they don't have much money to spend, etc. etc. I've been doing their maintenance for a few months now. The last 2 times I mowed, I had to drop my Exmark to the lowest level to even make it look like the grass had been cut. There's a couple areas where it gets high enough it needs mowing, but most of the common areas everything is just dead, it's like mowing straw.

The conditions down here in GA are just horrible. I don't even know how you justify to these people to keep their service up when everything is just dying and they can't water anything...Another customer, every 2 weeks, last time I was out there 'can we make it every 3 weeks' ok fine, went out there the other day, just short of the 3 weeks, looks just like it did when I last mowed. :cry:

Cutting real low and letting them just move the mowing out further isn't the best way to handle things. I just don't get how people are making it down here. They're saying already next year is going to be the same. Drought all year, total watering ban all year!
  2. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

Cutting at the lowest level seems like the last thing you want to do for an already highly stressed turf. Literature on turf care suggests raising the cutting height during the dry part of the season. You run the risk of doing even more damage to the turf by cutting it low.