What do you think.

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by FFjay, Mar 7, 2006.

1. FFjay

FFjay LawnSite Member

Hey fellers just wanted to pick your brains. I'm a career firefighter with plenty of time off looking to make a little extra scratch. I got you standard harry homeowners equipt. I was looking to start aerating and overseeding,Vacation lawn mowing, edging basic lawn stuff. Any tips would be great. I'm not looking to get rich just try to get ready for the baby on the way. Not sure if I really need insurance. I surely get it if I start making money. But what is a good way to get your name out. I like helping older folks and thought my services would be a help to them. Anyway any info is great info. Much THANKS!!!

2. weathervane

weathervane LawnSite Member
    from mass

put in add in the paper or do door hangers that is a great way to get started

3. Ocean Side

Ocean Side LawnSite Member

FF Jay
    I am a Full Time FF in Newhampshire, I have the same plan this summer. All the info that you will need is here on this site. Email me with any questions you may have. To start you will want a decent mower, a line trimmer, and a blower go from there, and good luck

4. hackitdown

hackitdown LawnSite Silver Member

I think it is a great way to go. You can do well with de-thatching, aerating, overseeding, and edging. Mowing requires weekly visits, can you work your schedule to make mowing possible?

You gotta get insurance. Money well spent.

5. 29 Palms Property Management

29 Palms Property Management LawnSite Senior Member

I agree! Whether or not you do this a little or a lot, it's great to have piece of mind knowing that your butt is covered in case something unfortunate should happen. Accidents are just that, accidents! You never know.

6. daveintoledo

daveintoledo LawnSite Silver Member