What drives you ???

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Maxwells, May 22, 2005.

1. Maxwells

Maxwells LawnSite Member
    from NZ

I am sure we are all in business for different reasons ? but what drives you to be self employed ? what are peoples goals ? what drives you to be self employed and leave the regular wage ? the job security ? its an interesting thing and feedback would be great ..................

RICHIE K LawnSite Senior Member

I was a police officer for 6.5 years and i hated taking orders. I had my business so one day i walked in the chiefs office and just quit. The first year was tuff. But now im making alot of money and im my own boss. :)

Richie K

www.kulakandcompany.com :cool2:
  3. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

Easy answer. The freedom to do what I want, when I want, each day. Period
  4. Premo Services

Premo Services LawnSite Bronze Member

I agree totally, but add have fun and make money.... Show me the green!!! payup payup payup
  5. pagefault

pagefault LawnSite Senior Member

I'm in it for the opportunity to run things the way I couldn't run them when I worked for someone else.

Also, there was always a collection of undervalued employees where I worked previously. These guys were superstars that never got much credit because they didn't play politics very well. I always thought that if I could hire 5 or 6 of them, we could take over this town. Right now, I'm just trying to get big enough to hire them and prove my theory.
  6. Green Dreams

Green Dreams LawnSite Senior Member
    from Texas

Pagefault... I was a part of a team like that. My owner was very "hands off" and I think that was his downfall. He eventually sold to Mega Co. I learned alot and am now self employed myself. I agree with your philosophy for the most part.

"What drives me?" is a great question...