1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What else do I need to cover? (Any guys located in Missouri please answer especially.

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by MGB Guy, Feb 1, 2004.

1. MGB Guy

MGB Guy LawnSite Member

I have done small lawncare for 5 years now in Missouri, and I graduated college with an Associates and now I am doing this full time for a while, I just want to know if I have most of what I need. I have all the equipment, 3 commercial mowers, 2 Stihl trimmers, 2 Stihl blowers, fully equiped trailer (breaks, 2 gates with lower springs, and all the racks). I have sent in a ficticious name form to register my name. I have Quickbooks set up and as soon as my name is registered, I will go start a new bank account in that name. As soon as it registers, I will also be lettering the trailer and truck. I know that for sole proprietorship you use a 1040 schedule C, but since I'm not selling anything, I didn't know if I needed a Tax ID number or what. I live in the city limits as well but I live with my parents, and there isn't really a building for this business, so do I need any permits or what?
  2. Advanced Lawncare

Advanced Lawncare LawnSite Member

You need to check with the city and county to determine if you need a business lisc for the areas that you will do business. When I talked to the state I was told that sales tax id was not needed for providing services, only needed if selling physical products. I didnt notice insurance, that to me at least is very important. Federal Tax ID will depend on if you are going to have employees as well as a few other things. If you are going to be a solo operator you can use your ssn
  3. MGB Guy

MGB Guy LawnSite Member