What equipment do i need to get started in lawn applications?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by GreenHor7, Oct 17, 2006.

1. GreenHor7

GreenHor7 LawnSite Member

I am new to this industry. Right now my partner and I do very light landscaping and lawnmowing. We want to explore into the treatment area of lawncare. Obviously, for the monetary issues and because of customers request. I was wondering what equipment we will need to get started and a rough start-up cost of everything. We are considering a open trailer set-up with either a perma-green unit or a z-spray. Using a nurse tank to refill the units. Our average size lawn is about 30000 square feet. Looking for some feedback.

2. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

Not to sound like a broken record, but the first thing you're going to want to do is check into and pursue your licensing protocol, first. Otherwise, you may end up with a bunch wrapped up into equipment that you can't use.

3. GreenHor7

I am in pursuit of my liscensing protocal. I am just trying to prepare myself financially as far as equipment costs and needs go. I am just a little concerned because my partner and i visited lesco today and they threw out several options. We are just not too sure on what path to take as far as equipment options go.

4. ampeg76

ampeg76 LawnSite Senior Member

fairly vague on your knowledge, just cramming for a test is easy, you might want to do some real world studying while out in the field mowing and whatnot, and some book reading while at home, it will be nearly impossible to come up with a good plan unless you know your area inside and out, temps, local diseases, grass types, typical and atypical pests, you have opened a big bag of worms, do some research and have fun!

so much more to add, do some searched on here, there really is a wealth of knowledge!

5. upidstay

upidstay LawnSite Bronze Member
    from CT