What fertilizer and weed control to use

Discussion in 'Fertilizer Application' started by jcancel53, Sep 17, 2007.

1. jcancel53

jcancel53 LawnSite Member

Hello everybody!

I am new to this, the question is it took me 1-1/2 years to get my lawn to look decent, my mistake was to use TRUEGREEN, signed up with them after they started treating my Lawn it went to hell.

I have BAHIA ARGENTINE GRASS, all of the sutton it has bermuda grass in it, high increase of weeds and I fired them, Going back to using Lesco, need the best recommendations to repair my lawn.

Photo's are attached, I would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Jose

Lawn 019.jpg

Lawn 020.jpg

Lawn 018.jpg

Lawn 021.jpg

Lawn 022.jpg

2. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

Ok, Ric....Where are you? :)

3. jcancel53

I am located in Ocala, FL its in Central Florida

4. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

LOL. No, I was meaning Ric,...a member here who is down in Florida that would be able to answer you - as he specializes in this field.

5. jcancel53

LoL funny,

Thanks very much

6. gregory

gregory LawnSite Bronze Member

get different grass.........do you have sprinklers? if so get st augustine floratam

7. jcancel53

yes, I have sprinklers, Thanks very much Gregory!

Jose

8. gregory

gregory LawnSite Bronze Member

if you can afford it lay down new sod ...bahia is pasture grass...you will be happy you did if you lay down some floratam...maybe ric will stop by and could give you some pointers on how you care for bahia

9. jcancel53

Thanks Gregory, I will get estimate for new sod, and appreciated very much for the help.

Jose

10. RAlmaroad

RAlmaroad LawnSite Silver Member
    from SC

J: Let's not jump just yet. You can always have replacing sod as Plan B. Do this and give it another year. What's year when a lot of real hard work is facing you. I just put down 8K of centipede this weekend. That's 16 pallets.
    Firstly, let's look at the grass:

Bahia's Advantages are:

Easy to start from seed