What fertilzer applicators work best.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by luckylawnboy, Nov 16, 2000.

1. luckylawnboy

luckylawnboy LawnSite Senior Member

I am just getting into appling a fetilizer program for next year, for my customers, and local athletic feilds. 8 Soccer feilds. I will probally go with some liquid herbicide but I am going to stick to granular for my fertilizer needs. I need a good walking spreader that is easy to use and read as far as setting for lbs/1000 and what do you guys use for open areas. 8 soccer feilds will get old walking them. Also what brand of Herb. Pest. and Fertilizers work the best. I have herd good stuff about lesco, but I am not too familure with there products.

2. HOMER

HOMER LawnSite Gold Member

One question: Are you licensed to apply herbicides?

Homer

3. ant

ant LawnSite Silver Member

I DO APPLICATIONS WITH A PERM-A-GREEN RIDE ON SPRAYER/SPREADER and i works out 4 me about $4100.oo
    and i feel its worth it.
    anthony (sorry for the caps)

4. Barkleymut

Barkleymut LawnSite Bronze Member

A Lesco push spreader will not take too long on an athletic field. It has a 9ft spreading width. The only problem with it is the capacity. If you can only put 2 bags in then you will be refilling constantly. I know a guy who used to fertilize an 18 hole golf course with a push spreader. He drives around in his truck and drops off all the bags where he will need to refill and then goes at it. It took him over 7 hours with no break. Now he has some big fertilizer spreading machine that cost a fortune.

5. luckylawnboy

luckylawnboy LawnSite Senior Member