What is a reasonable expectation?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by DavidATL, Apr 24, 2000.

1. DavidATL

DavidATL LawnSite Member

I am just starting out as a one man operation and am wondering what the average number of lawns that I could expect to perfrom weekly maintenance in an 8 hour day? Most of my lawns are bermuda and I am finding myself having to catch clippings right now with a 21" self propelled mower that is taking me roughly an hour and a half per lawn. I have a 36" Bobcat that I plan to use later without catching. Or, should I consider a catcher for the Bobcat? On an average lawn of 7,500 square feet or more, I would be interested in learning how many lawns you guys could do in a day as a one-man show. At what point to I holler "uncle" and get a helper?

2. Scraper

Scraper LawnSite Bronze Member

Too many variables too little info (i.e. drive time between stops, different size lawns with different requirements). I would say you could "shoot" for 10-15 lawns a day at 7,500 square feet with a 36". What would you be charging? Here in SE PA I can get anywhere from $30-40/cut for a 7,500 square foot yard, especially using a 36" which many people want. I just explain to them if they want the smaller mower they have to pay more $$$.

3. HOMER

HOMER LawnSite Gold Member

Scraper, how do you manage 10-15 a day by yourself? Are you edgeing, trimming, blowing, the whole 9? I've asked this question before, how many lawns a day, me and 1 helper got 12 the other day and 10 for 2 days in a row, I can't see getting 15 with 2 people unless they were side by side!<p><br>Homer

4. Scraper

Scraper LawnSite Bronze Member