What is Geogrid?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by studentlawn, Jul 22, 2004.

1. studentlawn

studentlawn LawnSite Member

Im new to the realm of landscape installation so I have been reading all posts lately to in an attempt to absorb some information. I keep reading about two things which have been keeping me confused. Every time a subject on a wall comes up, the use of geogrid comes into question. I am not quite sure what is it, so I was hoping someone would clear that up for me. Also, the phrase "that wall needs to be engineered". My best assumption was that an architect needs to test it out in CAD, but thats only a guess. So I was hoping someone could clear these two things up.

2. kris

kris LawnSite Bronze Member
    from nowhere

Geogrids are flexible, synthetic meshes that are manufactured specifically to reinforce the soil mass behind segmented retaining walls.... This provides slope stabilization and earth retention. The use of geogrid for slope stabilization allows retaining walls to perform to 30 feet or more...... There are a variety of sizes and strenths. All of them are rated for their strenth and ability to resist stretching or creeping....as the wall is built, layers of grid are placed at specific locations in the wall. The soil is compacted around grid layers, and the friction that develops, interlocks the soil and grid. As layers of geogrids are positioned within the soil mass and soil is compacted around them, the internal strength of the soil mass behind the wall resists overturning and sliding.

ENGINEERED WALLS.....Site specific engineering drawings are recommended and can be usually arranged by contacting your dealer...Typical spacing is 2 to 3 feet between layers. The length of the geogrid can be as short as 3 feet (1 m) or in excess of 15 feet (5 m).