What kind of questions do you ask during the first meeting?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by MJK, Oct 28, 2006.

1. MJK

MJK LawnSite Senior Member

What kind of questions do you ask when your first meeting with a potential client? How do you go about doing your sale? Thanks a ton for the help.

2. AGLA

AGLA LawnSite Bronze Member

The first thing that I ask is how they want to use the site. It gets them talking about their ideas. Then I just keep them going. Even if the thoughts they have are not the best ideas, I can get a feel for the budget, what they like, how they live, and a real lot of info about them. I'll point out major flaws in their ideas in a subtle way and expand upon them from my own knowledge and experience.

I'm not a questionaire kind of guy. I know that a lot of designers like to give the potential client a questionaire to get as much info as possible. I like to think that I am a professional and darn good at getting enough of a feel for them from the initial meeting. I also believe that this does not go unnoticed. The biggest reason why someone is going to go with you is that they have confidence in you in that you are listening to them, seem trustworthy, have some evidence of successful built work, and you seem to know what you are talking about whether they know what your talking about or not.