what length enclosed trailer?

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by lil'dale, Jul 20, 2008.

1. lil'dale

lil'dale LawnSite Member

Hey everybody. I'm a newbie to the site and pretty new to the business after not doing yards since college 20 years ago. I am about to buy an enclosed v-nose trailer and can't decide between 16 or 18 feet. Any thoughts on this from any of you? Also, any recommendations or better yet, pictures of what type of racks and stuff I should put inside of it?

Thanks in advance for you advice.

2. PLS-Tx

PLS-Tx LawnSite Silver Member
    from Texas

What will you be pulling your trailer with? I would get as big as your truck can pull. We have a 8.5x20, and we could use more room at times. I would get at least the 18' if your truck could pull it.

As far as racks, we use trimmer traps and they work great.
  3. Merlin300

Merlin300 LawnSite Member
    from Zone 5

Get the 18' and roll with it.
  4. Junior M

Junior M LawnSite Fanatic

like he said it all depends on what your truck can handle. but remember the vnose takes about two or three feet off so when you buy the 18 you are really only getting like 16 feet of regular floor space. so if you want all the use of the 18 feet you might have to get a regular square nose trailer.
  5. supercuts

supercuts LawnSite Silver Member

18', you'll outgrow any size, so if those are teh 2 options go big
  6. punt66

punt66 LawnSite Fanatic