What machine/s are required?

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by Botabill, Apr 22, 2008.

1. Botabill

Botabill LawnSite Member

I have an option of taking on a job I've never done before. It includes digging out a wet marshy area to make a pond. Pond would be about 40 feet across. Also need to trench out a feeder stream that is about 300 feet long. It probably should be trenched about 6 feet wide and 3feet deep. The excess soil should be bermed or spread out around the area after digging. Is there one machine (eg. case 580) that can do this or will a have to use an excavator, dozer or some other combination. Thanks!

2. ksss

ksss LawnSite Fanatic

Sounds to my like an excavator would likely be enough but an LGP dozer wouldn't hurt.

3. RockSet N' Grade

RockSet N' Grade LawnSite Silver Member

I did one like that last year with my excavator only........took a little while and was a little tricky at times dumping the machine into an unseen hole, but it worked great after I figured out my system of approach. I used the bucket as a feeler to feel the area where I was going to track into to make sure I didn't hit a hole......kinda like a blind man using a cane. After that and a little exploration to make sure I had good bottom, we went at it full throttle and it ended up being alot of fun....I would do it again in a heart beat......

4. Gravel Rat

Gravel Rat LawnSite Fanatic

One thing you have to think about digging out marshy areas is it legal ?

Also if its really swampy then you may sink out of sight so swamp mats for the excavator will be needed.

5. Dirt Digger2

Dirt Digger2 LawnSite Silver Member
    from PA

your best option would be a 15 ton trackhoe...maybe even a 20 with wide tracks and a LGP dozer for making it look nice

backhoes have their place, and this isn't it...you would spend more time covering your tracks then digging