What makes more sense new or used?

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by mrusk, Mar 29, 2007.

1. mrusk

mrusk LawnSite Gold Member

What do you guys think makes more financial sense over time, new or used trucks?

My dad always bought new vehicles. So when i went into business i bought a new 05 3/4 ton dodge cummins. My repairs/maintanence for all of last year was around 650 dollars. Basically thats just oil changes, differencial fluid changes, wipers, and thats about it.

I know what people who spend upwards for 10k on one vehicle for maintenance some years.

This year i need to add another truck. I do not know which way to go. It seems like most vehicles 2-3 years old are selling for almost the same price as new.

I know any mason dump in the 15k price range will be beat to hell.

Thinking long term what do you guys think really works out best? I am just alittle scared buying used since i have no experience with it and am not a great mechanic. Also being a 2 truck company, i can not afford the down time.

Maybe i should just buy two used trucks.

2. Gravel Rat

Gravel Rat LawnSite Fanatic

If the 05 Dodge is your personal truck don't get rid of it. I spent many years dealing with used trucks and I'am done with fooling around with junk. The 2003 F-450 I bought only had 58,000kms (36,000 miles) on it and so far its the best truck I ever owned.

Trying to find a mason dump is going to be nearly impossible your going to have to build your own. Try find a cab and chassis or a truck that had a 12' Van on it take the body off and put a dump box on it.

Search for something that is about 4 years old it still should be in good shape anything older than that will be a money pit.

3. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic