What organic application program to use?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by tcalb2, Mar 13, 2007.

1. tcalb2

tcalb2 LawnSite Member

I'm new to organic fertilizers and pesticides. I was wondering if you guys had certain types of fertilizer and pesticides that you've had good luck with. I've been told that "sustain" is a good fertilizer but i can't find any information about it. thanks guys

2. flgtr95

flgtr95 LawnSite Member

It is spelled "Sustane" (www.sustane.com), but still $$$. Take a look at Nutrients Plus (www.nutrientsplus.com). If your customers don't care about other people sh**, then look at Milorganite. Other options are available through feed stores and coops such as corn gluten meal (CGM), alfalfa meal/pellets, feather meal, etc (feed type ingredients that feed microbes which release nutrients to plants and turf), but might want to avoid meat and blood meals (attracts pests). Also, CGM is supposed to supress weed germination particularily crabgrass.

There aren't really any true "organic" pesticides, but insecticidal soap, pyrethins and other types of botanicals are being used with mixed results.

3. tcalb2

tcalb2 LawnSite Member

Thanks for the help. yea i recently got a customer who had gone with Gro-Pro "organic lawn care company" for many years but had alot of weed problems. I was asked if I could help them. I appreciate the help i'm going to look into the natural plus and see what they have.

4. green_mark

green_mark LawnSite Senior Member

I believe you should look into both web sites.

www.GreenGuardian.us [Here you can see what programs we use]

and

www.FarmCropExtracts.com [This has the products we use]

As far as success rates. We treat over 3,000 lawns in Minnesota.

In Canada, we treated over 250,000,000 sq ft and already have exceeded this level for orders for this year.

These programs do work when you work the program.

Keys to success?