1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What should I buy to start my service next year?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by slicknick, Sep 20, 2009.

1. slicknick

slicknick LawnSite Member
    from Ohio

First let me say Im sooooo glad I found this site. I love reading everything and getting smarter as I do so!

I've been cutting neighbors lawns since I was 10 years old. Im 18 years old now, and this past year I cut 6 lawns around my neighborhood. I have a 2003 Trailblazer which I throw everything in, 2 22inch self propelled mowers, one craftsman which is 10 years old and running strong, and a toro which I got 6 months ago. I have a weedeater, edger, blower, trimmers, lots of other stuff. Next year, I plan on getting a trailer since my trailblazer has a hitch on it so I can pull stuff around easier.
    Heres my situation. I want to try and get multiple accounts next year. All the money I made this year, $4000, can be spent on next years stuff. I really want a commercial mower of 42 inches, preferably a ride on zero turn (I know its expensive starting out, but I want to be able to do this professionally next year). What mower do you recommend? What's a good 42 inch mower to start off with? How much would you spend on it (if you only had 4000 total to spend on everything). What size trailer would you recommend getting? What other necessities would I need to become a "professional" company? How do I get accounts without putting flyers in their mailbox (which is illegal)? Any tips on how to get started would be amazing. I really want at least 20 next year. What would you charge on a 10000sqft lawn normally? I live in ohio so basically grass can be cut from march to october, give or take a few weeks. When do you start advertising/getting the word out of your company in the spring?