what should i do?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lonnie13, Aug 19, 2002.

1. lonnie13

lonnie13 LawnSite Member

I am a firefighter and on my days off I mow 14 yards ($25-$30). A fellow firefighter is selling his lawn service. He has 22 lawns, all pretty small. 36" Yazoo-Kees walk behind, not sure if it is belt or hydro. 14 ft open trailor, stihl blower, echo edger, homelite trimmer. He is asking $5000, is this a good price, it seems a little high to me seeing how mowing season is slowing How is this yazoo. Also he said he grosses $2200 per month and his customers would stay with me. I appreciate your advice
  2. KLMlawn

KLMlawn LawnSite Senior Member

I recently asked a similar question as to the price of accounts, and if you do a search, you will find many threads on this topic.
    But to put it in a nutshell, used equipment should be at fair market value for used equipment if it is good condition, and the accounts - well that depends on a few things ...

Are they priced fairly ? = will you make money for the time they will take.
    Are they in your current service area ? = not driving across hells half acre to get to each of them.
    Are there any assurances that the customers will stay with you after the change? = are they on contracts and going to like you and your work enough to stay.

If you can answer YES to the above question then lets continue ...

A fairly valued account, from what I have averaged from other responces on this site works out to be about one months gross or about 10-15% of the seasonal income (just from maintenance).
    Trimming, clean-ups, ect. are extras and should not be consider in the sale price, they would be gravy for you if you get the accounts.