What should I do????

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Jon99, Apr 5, 2003.

1. Jon99

Jon99 LawnSite Senior Member

Over the last 12 years, while working as a financial analyst, I worked for an LCO on Saturday's because I enjoyed doing it and that money was our vacation money..

Last summer I lost my job and I decided I enjoyed the business enough to start a solo outfit.. I started advertising about a month ago and currently have 6 residentials and 1 commercial (will be two commercials when the second bank branch opens in July), while I am fairly pleased with my progress I need more income for us to pay the bills...

Well the other day the guy I have worked for in the past called me, told me he saw I was starting up my own business, wanted to wish me luck and then asked if I would want to work for him a few days a week.. Is this a good idea or a situation waiting to go bad and one that should be avoided???

2. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

Unless you are independently wealthy, I would try it. What have you got to lose? You'll be making some extra income and probably learning a few things along the way as well.

Good luck in whatever you choose:D

3. Mickhippy

Mickhippy LawnSite Platinum Member

Go for it but remember where your priorities lie. Might even make some contacts out of it!

4. LawnMowerMan2003

LawnMowerMan2003 LawnSite Senior Member

I had some success doing this before, but I also had people that gave me the hard stuff they didn't want to do and I didn't get very many regular customers out of it (I didn't try to steal them). I'd probably do it again now, if somebody offered and they paid me enough. I only have 7-10 residential this season (due to a broken collar bone last year) and it doesn't pay very many bills. Just make sure you have enough time left to continue marketing, so you can keep building your own business.

5. wrtenterprises

wrtenterprises LawnSite Senior Member