what size deck?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by NEAL, May 26, 2001.

1. NEAL

NEAL LawnSite Member
    from WI

Hi guys I do the snowplow thing to make money in winter but I am thinking about mowing lawn in the summer and getting out of my regular job. To start though I want to secure some jobs and work my regular job. My Question is...If I can only afford to buy one mower what size deck would be most useful? I am totally new to this and do not know what size lawns I will be dealing with but I will assume I will have them all, small fenced in yards and wide open areas. I want to be as big as possible to be efficient but not too big for the small stuff.What size deck do you guys recommend? I think I will be buying a comercial walk behind.

Neal

2. swn

swn LawnSite Member

I have 48", 52", and a 61" decks. I think that the 52" would be a good size. But I have no idea what size gates you will have to fit through. I do not have to worry about that much were I live. If you will have any large properties, a 36" or 48" will be slow go.
    Good luck.

3. HOMER

HOMER LawnSite Gold Member

48 to start with and a 21" for the gates................just stay away from the ones with gates! The 48 can get through some, not all the time, but it will do great on the front yards and even some open areas.

4. joshua

joshua LawnSite Bronze Member

whatever you get make sure it hydro, you have a great dealer, and i would suggest a 48" or 52" w/b depending on the size of lawns you are looking at.

5. slabpile

slabpile LawnSite Member