What skid steer for school?

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by Turfsnow, May 22, 2005.

1. Turfsnow

Turfsnow LawnSite Member
    from NH

This is my first post so excuse me if I screw this up. I am a landscaper (part time) and an assistant agricultural science teacher (full time), and our program is looking into getting a skid steer. I have been teaching for three years and I have been trying to convince the instructor that we should get one because that is where the industry is going. The instructor went to the local Mustang dealer and he thinks he got a good price on a 2044, and he is almost certain this is the one to get. He has never operated a skid steer, and I have only operated and 873 bobcat. The Bobcat has hand/feet controls, and the mustang has hand and “T” bar control, I believe. How does that work? We are looking for something under 20k, around or above 50hp, ability to pick up a ton. We have 30 to 40 students enrolled that will have the chance to operate it.
    Any info that anyone has would be greatly appreciated. Opinions also wanted.

2. 2004F550

2004F550 LawnSite Senior Member

I have a mustang 2040 which is the 2044's cousin. I believe the 2044 is the same rating etc. Anyway I would recomend the mustang to your school. The T Bar control is very easy to learn and would be the best option for 40 students in my opinion. As for being the best skid steer, no, but in this case it seems that ease of use would be more important. Also, I would try and haggle the price, Im not sure about your area but around here I have the only Mustang around I believe. Your dealer may drop the price to get a machine into a school like that because it will help get their name out there. Just my 2 cents :D

3. SCAG POWER

SCAG POWER LawnSite Senior Member

I vote for the Bob Cat S250 with A/C,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Now thats cool, 98 degrees out side cold on the inside........................ :waving:

4. ksss

ksss LawnSite Fanatic