what the Hel....

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by rrhonda, Jun 11, 2004.

1. rrhonda

rrhonda LawnSite Member

OK, What the hell am I doing wrong? This is my first year. I have 20 regular customers, each about 20.00 dollar per cut.Ones 120.00 per cut. And I have a lot of other garden and other work customers. 200.00 to 300.00 per job. The problem .... I'm so broke my husband and I are using a craftman and (1070),Wheelhorse tractor. I can hear you all laughing :) I can't imagine ever getting a Z , cause I'll never be able to afford it. I'm two months behind on my mortage. My husband fixes all the equipment ( thank God) cause the Wheel horse needs a lot of fixing, lol. So whats the deal. P.S no shopping or drug habbits, I'm putting it all in the checking account.

2. BCSteel

BCSteel LawnSite Senior Member

Well, the problem is obvious. You're not making enough money.

Do you have a seperate business and personal accouts? If not then that would be a good place to start. Its easy to over spend all your bus. money when it is all in the same place. Sounds like you may need to keep better track of all your expenses as well as your income.

3. Liberty Lawncare

Liberty Lawncare LawnSite Senior Member

My best source of advertising to gain new customers has been flyers.

This is my first year "full time" on my own. I have about 35 lawns & other landscaping jobs that I do weekly.

I think your problem is your equipment, it's too slow. Sell the craftsmand & wheelhorse, buy as used walk behind 48" mower, hydro if possible, belt drive is usually cheaper. I have a 48" Lesco belt drive w/b.

4. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator