What to buy?

Discussion in 'Hustler Turf Equip (Archived)' started by msc5195, Jul 26, 2006.

1. msc5195

msc5195 LawnSite Member

I am lookig at buying my first ZTR. I currenty cut 1.75 acres of centipede with a Home Depot Scotts(made by John Deere) 17hp kohler 42" cut. I have been using this mower for 4 years and it has been flawless. The only problem is that it takes me close to 3hours being I stripe or attempt to stripe the lawn. With that said I am looking at either a 18hp 44" FasTrak or the
    20hp 52" FasTrak. The 20/52 is only $200.00 more. Is the extra 2hp enough to support the extra 8" of cut? Is it wort the extra 200.00 and the extra blade cost just to say I have a big mower. I do know that the 18hp/44" will walk circles around my current mower so should I just save the extra cost and settle for it? Also has anyone had any experience with the hustler bagger system? Does it work good? Are the blowers a problem?

THANKS in advance for you input.

2. mowerconsultant

mowerconsultant LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from Syracuse, NY

The extra $'s spent on the larger deck and engine are worth every penny, I wouldnt hesitate to buy it, especially if your dealer has that good of pricing on the 52".
    Both decks are 3 blade decks, so you are not saving money on a blade.
    I would just make sure the 52" is going to go everywhere on your property that your 41" goes now, as in between trees and obstacles and of course your storage shed or garage.
    As for the blower on the catcher, some early made units had some minor issues, but have since been worked out and this catcher has worked great for us.
    There are many owners here on this site that will chime in with there experience with this mower.
    Let me know if you have any more questions.

Pj

3. mike28nc

mike28nc LawnSite Member