WHAT TO CHARGE.....................# 2

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by HOMER, Apr 13, 2000.

1. HOMER

HOMER LawnSite Gold Member

I had to do that! I'm in the same boat and the phone is ringing. I have been cutting a Church yard for the last 2 years, it is mainly open cutting with only the trimming to do around the building. There are no trees or even a good parking lot or flower beds so it's riding for about 2 hrs x 3 mowers minimum. I won't tell you what I've been charging for fear of hearing the laughter from all over the U.S. and Canada but I would like to get an average from everybody so I can present it to the guy in charge. Oh, I have to drive 30 minutes each way just to cut this one place, nothing even close to my route so factor that in. I am using a 50&quot; chopper and a 72&quot; chopper and the 48&quot; slow scag. I will be eagerly awaiting your reply, I'm sure by now its knee deep in weeds and he wanted it cut last Saturday but I didn't make it.<p>Homer

2. eagle lawn services

eagle lawn services LawnSite Member

I simply charge $30 an acre for just cutting it, weedeating, or anything else is extra. As for the thirty miles, you may have to eat that. Another closer service won't have to factor that into their price and you know the saying, it is your competition that sets your price. If you think you can get away with it though or can afford to lose the account, then obviously charge your hourly price for the drive... you could be mowing closer to home making money instead of spending it behind the windshield, so if they are intent on having your service charge for your drive time. <br>Just my two cents.<br>chris h.

3. Keith

Keith LawnSite Gold Member

Homer, I couldn't laugh. I too have one of these, but not ten acres.

4. gorrell

gorrell LawnSite Senior Member

Homer, you should be getting $40.00/ machine/hour for this property. If you're not getting this, you should re-negotiate the contract. Thanks, Lynn

5. cutting edge