1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What to charge $$

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by kh5150, Feb 7, 2003.

1. kh5150

kh5150 LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

I am a rookie lawncare but very much a veteran snow plow contractor. I have been pondering the idea of getting into the lawncare & lanscape Biz. How the heck do I figure what to charge ?? for cutting grass , trimming etc. ?? Gezzz snowplowing is Sooo much easier :cool: Thanks you for any help KH
  2. bob

bob LawnSite Platinum Member
    from DE

The way you feel about lawn care, is the way I'd feel about plowing- lost! My best advice would be to do a search on this forum. There's hundreds of threads that could help you out.
  3. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

Although there are many factors involved you will need to have an idea of how long it’s going to take you to complete each site.

I try to calculate my mowing figures using 44,000 sf as an acre. I always try to assess how difficult an area is going to be and assign it a “Degree of Difficulty” from 1.5 (flat bagged areas, minimal obstacles) to 3 (steep hillsides, heavy foot traffic, numerous obstacles restricting high productivity while cutting).

You have to know your equipments productivity in order to bid efficiently whether its by the sf, lf, or hr. Lets say for example:
    **You use a 52” wb and you calculate that your average hourly production time is 40m/sf per hour or 674 sf/minute.
    **Your other mower is a 36” wb that you have averaged out to 28m/sf per hour or 467 sf/minute.
    **You figure that you can line trim 30 tree rings or 4500lf per hour and/or you can stick edge 6000lf of curbs and walks per hour.
    **I estimate that my blower time averages out to be approximately 1/3 our trim+edge time so now I have production rates to bid.