What to do???

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by emil35, Dec 28, 2005.

1. emil35

emil35 LawnSite Member

Hello All,

I am currently 17, will be 18 in the spring and am a Senior in highschool. I love science and the outdoors. I have been mowing lawns since I was 8 to 10 years old, and after that all you sure learn alot bout the industry and how to deal with customers, employees, banks, loans, equ...you name it! But also with all those years under my belt, I've landed some rather nice accounts that I would just hate to lose. I currently have some debt from bank loans, but all those will be paid off in the next year or two. I have some money saved up for college but have been putting alot of it into the business, but I could always sell stuff and get it back out. One side of me says college for sure because without it your no one. But at the same time I think, why go? Some the most successful people in our country never went or finished college...look at Gates. My father has helped me with it for a long time, but he's getting to the age where it's not that easy to go out everyday. I have a relative who is a Dentist and is looking to get out of his practice and retire in the next 5 to 10 years. But I also have another who runs a fairly good sized Landscape Maintenance company and has made enough that wants to do something else in the next couple of years. I have the opition to buy either one of them out if I want. What would you do??? Im stuck! Part of me says stay in it, but another part of me says be a dentist or something like that. The one worry I have is employees cuz they're always a pain, but then again will that change soon with technology now days? What would you do? I'm open to all opinions in my situation. :confused:

Thanks,
    Emil

2. KCLandscape

KCLandscape LawnSite Senior Member

How will tech change your employees?