What to do?

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by gravtyklz, Jan 13, 2006.

1. gravtyklz

gravtyklz LawnSite Member

Okay as I drool over equipment I now come to getting much more serious.

I want to pay cash for whatever I end up buying, so I think I want to start small in the field of earth moving.

Heres the question though.....how does one start out with absolutely no experience? I'm an electrician, so I know certain aspects of construction and I see it very often, but ive never done the excavation, or earth moving part of it.

I know a lot of people rent out equipment before buying something. Should I try to find someone needing work, and rent a piece of equipment to try it out and see how it works out?

I've also thought about trying to find someone else in the business and help them out a little so I can gain a little experience and a "feel" for the work. What other alternatives are there though? Electrical work keeps me busy, so I doubt I can help out another contractor on my own schedule?

2. tylermckee

tylermckee LawnSite Member
    from wa

no offense but if a fellow told me he had no experience and was going to rent a machine and be running it for the first time i wouldnt hire him. maybe find an operator and buddy up with him, hell maybe you could get lucky and trade some electrical work for him showing you some tricks of the trade.

3. Squizzy246B

Squizzy246B LawnSite Senior Member

My advice is exactly what I did for stone masonary experience. Like you I am a tradesman. I had machine experience but lacked the skills for building retaining walls. I got a job labouring for a firm building mass walls and simply progressed from that. It took some time because, like most things, actuaslly doing the job entails a lot more than driving a machine, building a wall or wiring a house. There is all the tricks of the trade, business management and peripheral stuff which is just as important.

Get a job with a good operator and look for a mentor.