1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What to do...

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Grahamslawncare, Jul 18, 2014.

1. Grahamslawncare

Grahamslawncare LawnSite Member

What do you do when you only lawn mower goes down? This is my first year, and I couldn't afford to get a second mower yet. I have a Paulman Pro that's used. 2yrs old, runs pretty decent. The carb just needs to be rebuilt. I don't know how to rebuild a carb, so I decided it was time to get a second mower, and in my spare time search for a place to get my mower fixed. So I'll have 2 on the truck in case of any issues.

The problem I have right now is, what do I do? I have customers yards to cut yesterday and today, and I can't get to them yet. Do I just tell them that I'm having equiptment failure and hope they don't get mad about the wait? I got one who said I could use his mower. But I don't know if that's what I'm gonna have to do for clients who have mowers till I get back up and running.
  2. Mxrider52

Mxrider52 LawnSite Senior Member
    from TN

Uh you fix the mower asap. I use to only have one mower and when something tore up I was down. But I rushed to the store to get the parts I needed to get me back into operation. Since it seems you have spare time why are you not trying to fix the mower? Take the carb off. Take it apart and clean everything out. Use carb cleaner and a air compressor to blow out the holes.

I don't know if you can't afford to fix the mower or what. But if you cannot afford to have it fixed then I'm assuming you are not charging enough. A carb job is a cheap expense. You can pretty much buy carb cheaper then to take the mower to someone to look at
    Posted via Mobile Device
  3. larryinalabama

larryinalabama LawnSite Fanatic