What to look out for in a used WB...

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Sauls1686, Aug 15, 2003.

1. This question is probably posted on here some time but I din feel like looking.

Im just getting started and am looking to buy a walkbehind. Seeing that i still have to buy a truck so i can quit pulling my $75.00 snowmobile trailer with a 91 Grand Marquis, I can only spend about $1,200 on a mower.

Sooo that means USED. I guess I want a 48" Scag belt drive walkbehind. It doesnt have to be a Scag, but I want something like that.

Im looking at used walkbehinds and I want to know what are some trouble spots to look for.

ALSO. What size WB do i need?? Right now im only mowing 9 lawns with a 6 yr old Toro BBC 3spd 6.5 HP. and a new personal pace toro. (it wasnt my choice but a vy vy good deal!)

Some lawns I will still have to use my 21s on for most or all of the lawn but I can live with that.

My lawns are mostly little mb the average is 75X200. Almost all take under an hour with the 21.

SO im trying to decided whethere to get a 32,36,48,52,60??????

HELP! Whats the most practical?? I was gettin ready to buy a Giant Mow 32 but when ran it it rolled the one drive belt in the parking lot. Brand new? what peice of junk......

SAULS

2. Gr grass n Hi tides

Gr grass n Hi tides LawnSite Bronze Member

This is the first year for me cutting with my 48 wb hydro & I can put that thing in all sorts of tight places. It will go anywhere. It's enough mower to handle bigger properties just fine too. I've got a 32 belt drive but use it on just a few properties with small gates to the backyards.

On tiny lawns, that 48 will knock them out in no time flat. I love it. I'll bet you have time to just about double your accounts in the same amount of time if you start mowing with a 48. You'll freak.