What to say when you don't know?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Green Acres, Feb 16, 2001.

1. Green Acres

Green Acres LawnSite Senior Member

I have been doing lawn care for about 3 years now. Although I have learned ALOT from this site, magazines, and just listing to people there are still something I don’t know. I always try to look and act professional but when someone ask me something I don’t know the answer to I feel un-professional. So my question is what do you say to a customer when you don’t know the answer? Also what if they ask for a service you don’t offer yet what do you say then? Any tips or suggestions would be great. Thanks.

2. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Angel

If someone asked me a question I didn't know the answer to, I would say this. "I'm not certain about that, but I know someone that does know, let me find out for sure first and I will get back to you on this."

If someone asked for a service I don't offer, I would say "I don't offer this service yet, but if more of my customers are interested in this, I will consider starting this service."

If you are not interested in this service, refer them to someone that does this service.

3. Chopper Lover

Chopper Lover LawnSite Senior Member

If there is something you don't know tell your customer the truth and that you will find out for them and get back to them. Give them a time frame in which you will have them an answer. Then, most importantly, make sure you follow up. By doing so will reinforce to the customer two things. First, you are honest, second, your are dependable.

The same thing applies to services you don't provide. Tell them you don't provide service "xyx" and explain why if appropriate. Then ask if they would like you to find someone that can provide that particular service and if they want you to get estimate (for which you can take a cut if you choose) or if you can supply them with someone to contact directly.