1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

what to study??

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by The Curious Porpoise, Sep 27, 2005.

1. The Curious Porpoise

The Curious Porpoise LawnSite Member

i'm in college right now, and my major is business administration (becuase of my lawncare business)... if i want to continue on in this "green industry" what other majors should i consider in addition or in place of my current major----business admin.? for instance, i remember some one in this forum mentioned they were studying horticulture...
  2. lawncare18

lawncare18 LawnSite Senior Member

Study turf Management ... you got rutgers down there, penn state and smaller schools such as Delhi in NYS. Go to shcool to learn about the green industry as well as business side. good luck
  3. Dreams To Designs

Dreams To Designs LawnSite Bronze Member

If you want to expand into other fields of the green industry, horticulture is an excellent subject to pursue. There are many aspects of the horticulture industry from propagation to planting and maintenance. Never hurts to learn about diseases and pests while you are at it. Rutgers has great programs in turf and horticulture and the landscape architecture program isn't to bad either. Some of the local schools also have horticulture programs to varying degrees and Rutgers also offers professional education classes during the winter for those looking to further their businesses.

4. DLS1

DLS1 LawnSite Bronze Member

Some schools have an entrepreneur degree. You might check that out and include some of those classes as an elective if you go after the horticulture degree.
  5. bobbygedd

bobbygedd LawnSite Fanatic
    from NJ