What Truck

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by kelly Lawn, Feb 15, 2004.

1. kelly Lawn

kelly Lawn LawnSite Member

I am looking at buying a newer truck and am debating between a 3/4 ton chevy with the 6.1 liter or a 1/2 ton with the 5.3. The towing compacity on the 1/2 ton is 7500 lbs and my trailor is a dual axil car hauler with a 7000 lbs gvrw. I usually on ly cary lawn equipment( a deck mower and 3 21" push mowers plus what ever miscelaneous). I will be hauling a bob cat once in a while and other lloads like fertiliser or dirt. Should I go with the half ton and save on the gas money in all parts of the year, including when I am at college, or should I go with the 3/4 ton incase I need it in the future?

Any sugestions would help

Thanks

2. j fisher

j fisher LawnSite Senior Member

Go with the 3/4 ton, especially if your going to be hauling large loads of fertilizer and dirt.

3. CNE

CNE LawnSite Member

I am a technician full time at a chevy dealer. If you are going with a new truck, either one would be fine. I would not buy a '99-'01 model in the 5.3 We have had problems with them using oil. Seems to be corrected after '01. Buy new and you should be OK. I would probably go with the 2500 HD for the long run. You will probably need it in the future.

4. GLS

GLS LawnSite Bronze Member

3/4 ton.

You won't regret it. That's a pretty big trailer for a 1/2 ton. Although i've seen plenty of 1/2 tons towing skid steers, I wouldn't want to do it.

It's a 6.0 L by the way, not 6.1.

5. joed

joed LawnSite Bronze Member