what type of trailer to use?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by turfsup, Feb 15, 2002.

1. turfsup

turfsup LawnSite Member

Just getting started in the biz and I'm not quite sure whether I should by an open landscaping trailer or spend the extra $ and get a covered one. It rains a lot where I live and I would think that the equipment getting exposed to rain not to mention sun and heat would be a bad thing. Your thoughts please.

2. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

Get what you can afford and biggest you can use. You will outgrow most trailers pretty fast. Just remember, what you buy also has a direct relation on what type truck you must have.

3. trophytkr

trophytkr LawnSite Member

Like you I'm just starting out this year. I bought an open trailer with twin ramps on it. Right now it's sitting on my patio behind the house full of snow but come cutting season I plan to leave the equipment on it and put it in the garage each night. I went with the 12 footer because my thinking is if I expand and need more room that I would want 2 trailers so I could have 2 crews going in different directions rather than one big trailer that can handle more equipment.:blob3:

4. Messenger Gardens

Messenger Gardens LawnSite Member

Our mowing crews all use 18' tandem axle trailer pulled with 3/4 ton 4x4. Each crew takes a 61" ztr, either a 52" or 60" wb and a 36" wb or trime mower. Each trailer is equipped with a trimmer and blower rack.

5. PrimeGreen Lawn

PrimeGreen Lawn LawnSite Member

I have 2 crews now. Each has a 2000, and 2001 F350 Diesels pulling a 20' and 24' enclosed US Cargo trailers

6. Indiana

Indiana LawnSite Member

I started with a real small trailer (4x8) w/ramp. Made it myself and I still have it. Mounted a 100 gallon sprayer on it. This trailer pulls good and looks good, but it was way too small.