What type of truck should I buy?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by kelly Lawn, Feb 7, 2007.

1. kelly Lawn

kelly Lawn LawnSite Member

This is my first time posting to the site in a while and I am looking forward to getting your input.

I have been doing minor landscaping for the past three years as an expansion to my lawn maintenance business. I used a 95' 3/4 ton Chevy last year with a flatbed and 7000 lb GVW dump trailer to do the various jobs last season. I am going to use that truck for an additional lawn crew this coming season so I will need to buy another truck more suited for all types of landscaping. I want something that is versatile and that we can grow into as we start doing larger jobs. The 3/4 ton was not enough to move the gravel, bobcats, etc.

I am asking for recommendations on types and sizes of truck and trailer combos. I don't have a CDL and am not planning on getting one soon if i don't have to.

Thanks for any ideas,

Colby

2. procut

procut LawnSite Bronze Member

Maybe like a 4500 chevy with a dump box.

3. kelly Lawn

kelly Lawn LawnSite Member

What are your thought on using dump trailers vs. dump beds. I was thinking of selling my small dump trailer and getting a 16' low wheel 12000# GVRW trailer to pull behind the new truck. Something I can fit a bobcat in and unload it once I get to the jobsite and then use the trailer to get materials.

Just a thought

4. Lawnworks

Lawnworks LawnSite Fanatic
    from usa

That sounds like 50k in debt.

5. PSUturf

PSUturf LawnSite Senior Member

If you are going to pull a trailer that is registered at more than 9,999 lbs you need a CDL. When I was in business for myself I had 12000 lb dump trailer that was pulled by a 2003 Chevy 2500HD with the 8.1L gas engine, Allison auto, 4WD, 4.10 rear end. With that powertrain I could pull the trailer, loaded to capacity, with power to spare. I wanted the Duramax but couldn't afford the extra $4000.