1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What would be fair price for this biz?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by bjm95, Oct 8, 2009.

1. bjm95

bjm95 LawnSite Member

I am a newbie considering purchasing a existing landscaping biz.

This business is listed for 85k.

97 residential accounts
    Exmark 60' zero turn mower,
    32'' Toro with sulky, all the necessary equipment such as pack back blower, weed whackers, edger's etc.
    2002 GMC Crew cab & two enclosed trailers, one is 14' the other 16'
    It's net is 55k

I am thinking 65-70k. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

2. MarkintheGarden

MarkintheGarden LawnSite Bronze Member

Interesting question, can you give more details;
    Estimated value of the truck and equipment.
    Gross revenue.
    Region and area.
    How long has this business been established.
    97 accounts, it is real hard to say what this is worth without seeing service and billing records.
  3. bjm95

bjm95 LawnSite Member

gross is 158,600
    est on value of equip is 25k
    expenses is 153k including a 39k owner salary
    locate din central Florida
    established for 3.5 years
    Presently they operate out of a warehouse & have the tools necessary to do maintenance & repair on their equipment

it's though a broker but told it has good books and records and everything is verifiable.
  4. MarkintheGarden

What I would have to look at is what I could do with the business.
    Is it what you want and where you want it? Can you manage those accounts, increase the profitability? Do those tools come with the deal? (I assume the wharehouse does not). Do you know what to do with them?