What would be the most suitable applicator?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by RyanD, Dec 5, 2005.

1. RyanD

RyanD LawnSite Member

I am getting ready to bid on my first weed and feed. I have been doing lawn maintenance but decided to add this service. I am studying this winter for the licensing test in February. With that said, If I get this job, I will need to be set up for it. It is the front berm of a subdivision (1.37 acres). What would be the best way to apply herbicide. Should I go granular at first or purchase a sprayer? Boom sprayer or other? Thanks guys.
  2. SodKing

SodKing LawnSite Bronze Member

How much can you afford to spend?
  3. RyanD

RyanD LawnSite Member

Well, seeing that it is the only job I would have where I dispense chemicals, probably not alot initially (under $1000... preferably under $600), but I will be trying to get more of these. I had been looking at "boom" sprayers. I saw some that sit inside of a fert spreader. I have a walker mower and it looks like they sell a boom sprayer that mounts on a mowing deck. These have been the methods I have been looking at.
  4. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

If you already have a good ZTR mounting a spreader like the Lesco Truckster for under $ 400, would be the way to go for spreading granules.

Tractor Supply sells boom sprayers for ATV that are self contained for right at $ 350. These can be modified easily to fit your ZTR mower. BTW they also come with a wand sprayer for spot treatment.

BTW If you do a search here you will find many pictures of these type of set ups.
  5. walker-talker

walker-talker LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Midwest

I remember my first bid. It was about 3,000 sq ft and the guy just wanted a post emergent put down...wanted to get rid of his dandelions. I have no idea was I was doing, shot him a figure of $65....and I got it...lol. I thought I was living high on the hog that day...lol.