What would be the proper steps??

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by bigw, Jan 15, 2008.

1. bigw

bigw LawnSite Bronze Member

Ok lets say i have a 15ft long and 4ft wide old existing flower bed that has not been maintained in years and is full of nothing but weeds and dead plants and also garbage and anything else you can think of.What would be the proper steps to make it look beautiful.How much material,what material etc...oh the soil in it now is pretty much of the clay type.Would i rototill it and add top soil and how much?Anyway remember im not an expert yet and thats why im asking for the proper steps so be nice or else...:hammerhead: Thanks to all that help me!!

2. Exact Rototilling

Exact Rototilling LawnSite Fanatic

I'd remove top weeds and debris and what you can by shoveling racking etc. and haul that off . . . but to break up the soil tilling is good. Honda FG110AT, Mantis 2-stroke or Honda powered version are all good for that size area. I own all of those models. If the soil is dry some watering would be needed before tilling.

Can't really tell you beyond that. I'm still deciding if I want to tackle even light landscaping project with my biz due to my limited hauling towing ability with my weak vehicles.

Besides I admit I'm clueless about mulching etc. unless it's landscape fabric anchored with nails in the dirt, flexible border edging and decorative bark on top of that. From what I've read here the formula of what it cost you in material x3 to roughly figure labor. Possibly higher.

3. Big Bad Bob

Big Bad Bob LawnSite Bronze Member
    from zone 5