What Would You Do In My Situation?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by DBM, Mar 13, 2001.

1. DBM

DBM LawnSite Member

What would you do in my situation? I've got a bit of a problem here. It's my first year and intend to go part-time unless business allows me to go full-time. The problem is my budget is tight and only allows me to purchase a 36" walk-behind (this allows me to cut the smaller gated properties). The problem is it isn't cutting season here yet and I've already bid on a couple of residential properties I can't possibly quote competitively due to size.
    Should I screen them out over the phone, recommend them to a reputable competitor, sub it out, sell my wife's car to buy larger equipment or what? (hope the wife doesn't see the selling the car idea).
    Case and point I had to bid $100 a cut for an acre with alot of difficulty and trimming (I figured 3 hours work minimum). Even this is less per hour than what my goal is.
    Senior Members, what would you do?
  2. keep the big ones. if you only get big ones then sign them to contracts and maybe go and finance a larger machine. or if that is your only big one that you get then maybe keep the 36 and just go and spend the three hours at the big places or however long it takes you, save up and get a machine that suites your needs.
  3. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

I would be honest with potential clients and let them know that due to the size of your operation currently you will be subbing out the larger acerage lots to another contractor.

I would let them know that due to the unanticpated surge in business, that you have be hired XYZ Lawn & Landscape to handle these accounts in an effort to keep your clientele happy.

If you cannot sub out the work then just refer them to potential LCOs you feel will suit their needs. Let the customers know that you appreciate the offer, but are unfortunately not equipped to handle properties of their size at this point in time.