1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What would you do with this customer?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by JHLC, Nov 23, 2004.

1. JHLC

JHLC LawnSite Member

I have a customer that I have been servicing for over 2 years. I only take care of the lawn, he is responsible for weeds, shrubs, trees, fert.,ect. His wife got sick about a year and a half ago and he stopped taking care of everything. The beds are overgrown with weeds, trees and shrubs are out of control, the place is a real jungle. His wife passed away 8 months ago and he still has not done anything to his yard. It has gotten to the point were it takes me twice as long to service his lawn. I asked if he would like me to take care of the problem and he said he doesn't have the money. So my question is.. Do I stay with him or drop him? If I drop him, how do I do it nicely? The problem I am having is that I also service three houses across the street from him and they are all friends with each other. Any opinions would be appreciated.
  2. jbell113

jbell113 LawnSite Senior Member

If he is paying for the lawn service then dont worry about the rest.
  3. Precision

Precision LawnSite Silver Member

I disagree with jbell. Every lawn you do is advertising your work. I can't stand when people let the part they aren't paying you to do to get out of control.

If I could afford to drop him, I would. If not advertise some more so you can.
  4. tiedeman

tiedeman LawnSite Fanatic
    from earth

why does it take you longer to do it when you are only doing the lawn?

If you do three houses right across the street your work shows for yourself there. You have then 4 houses right there. One unload and load up for the maintenance of 4 places.