What would you do?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by gaither, Apr 25, 2005.

1. gaither

gaither LawnSite Member

I know this is has been discussed time and time again but i wanted some thoughts. I swore i was done with 2 week yards and but now i am in a dilema. I have roughly 14 accounts all with in a mile redaius of my house. I have been doing most of these for several years. Some are elderly and some are young professionals. They are all 1/3 acre. I have picked up 2 of these this year but i told them they had to be done every week and they said fine. I mow all these on tuesday - wednesday. Now both of these are wanted to go every other week. My fear is if my other costumers see this they want to go to it as well especially later in the summer.

What would you guys do?

2. Lawn-Scapes

Lawn-Scapes LawnSite Silver Member

Just say... sorry, no can do and thank you for your business.

3. LALawnboy

LALawnboy LawnSite Senior Member

i agree with lawn-scapes. on one of my bigger yards, i started out every 2 weeks. i don't know how her grass grows so fast but waiting 2 weeks to cut it made it miserable. so i talk to her about it and she was very understanding since it honestly took about 45 min longer to do it every 2 weeks (more trimming and having to double cut some areas). just maybe sit down and talk to the customers and explain your situation.

4. KL Squared

KL Squared LawnSite Member

I like yards that are close. Is the time spent double cutting less than the time driving? As for the other customers, it your job as a salesman to explain that every 2 weeks is not good for the lawn etc. I also am assuming that you carge at least 1/3 more for 2 week lawns.

5. Tn Lawn Man

Tn Lawn Man LawnSite Senior Member

I started by not doing EOW cuts. However, the demand for it is high. So, I very reluctantly agreed to it on a limited basis with some restrictions.