1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What would you guys do??

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Stevegotcrabgrass, Sep 24, 2009.

1. Stevegotcrabgrass

Stevegotcrabgrass LawnSite Member

I hate my job. I am a white collar guy with a great job at a famous firm and hate it. I love to work outside and with my hands. I was an auto mechanic through highschool and college and then went into my chosen (big mistake) profession. Sure I make good money but I never see my wife or kid. I would be happy working from 6 am to 4 or 5 pm 6 days a week.

I want to cut lawns. Am I crazy about even wanting to do this. My pros are that I know a lot of people who would probably hire me. Maybe even 300 plus. I also have experience in irrigation system installation and repairs and have an account at my local sprinkler/lighting supply house. In addition I have a decent number of connections with commercial properties. In my business I have made a lot of connections and that can help. Another pro is I can run a business from tax issues to legal issues as that is what I do everyday so that won't be an issues. I am very aware about overhead, economics, sales etc. Im fairly likeable (even though I sound not modest at all).