1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What's a reasonable slope for a ZTR?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by grassmeister, Mar 14, 2005.

1. grassmeister

grassmeister LawnSite Member

I have a 15 degree slope that I'm planning on mowing with a ZTR. My plan is to purchase a Ferris IS1500Z and I'm curious as to how it would handle such a hill. I suspect this mower wouldn't be too different from other zero turn mowers. Do you think it should be ok?
  2. CBB

CBB LawnSite Member
    from MS/LA

I am not sure about the Ferris. I do know that Exmark has their slope setting for a max. of 15 degrees. If you are cutting slopes, I would definitely look into mowers that come with ROPS. Its better to be on the safe side.
  3. Travis Followell

Travis Followell LawnSite Silver Member
    from KY

Most mower manufacturers say that 15 degrees is the maximum slope to cut with a ztr but that does not mean that all ztr's will hold a 15 degree slope the same. A lot would depend on what size deck the mower will have because the wider the deck the wider the wheels will be. I would say the Ferris should be fine though but it will probibly take some practice for you to really get good at it.
  4. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

Just don't buy ANYTHING without an on site demo of cutting your slope.

15 degrees is not that bad of a slope though. To me, that's flat lands.
    Myself, I'd be happy if my entire block of business was 15 degrees.
  5. grassmeister

grassmeister LawnSite Member