What's a scrub? Am I? Are you?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Up North, May 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Up North

Up North LawnSite Bronze Member
    from MN

Since joining Lawnsite.com I come across something about scrubs everyday. So you tell me...

This is my first year in the business, 38 years old, 2000 Chev. Silverado 1/2 ton 4x4, new 6.5x10 Big Tex trailer, new JD 48" rider, 21" Toro trim/push mower, new Stihl FS80 trimmer, new Stihl BR420 backpack blower, bagger system for JD, protective equipment, back up Craftsman trimmer, backup Homelite blower, business cards, flyers, statements, quote forms, 36x36 shop, 8x14 office in my shop, insurance, registered business name, and pay my taxes. I do spring/fall clean ups, mowing, trimming, blowing, edging, overseeding, aeration, de-thatching, pruning, residential & commercial.

When I do a job, first I pick up any debris or toys, etc. that may be laying around, then I mow, trim & blow. Probably take too much time on each job, but at this point of my business I need to make sure everything is perfect. If the customer is on-site I ask before I leave if everything looks good to them. If they are not on-site, I will make a follow up call that evening to make sure it looks ok. (This I do every other visit or so) Around mid-season I will be sending out a "Thank you for your business" card with a referral coupon. End of season, just before xmas I will do the same with a Christmas type card, mentioning that we do snowplowing.

At this point as far as I can tell, my customers consider me a professional. But since I can't afford an eXmark or Hustler at this time, and haven't acquired my licensing to apply fert., herb., or pesticides (of which I don't and won't do until I have my license). Have I undercut someone's price on a job? Probably, I don't know how much everyone is charging. Have I been undercut? Probably.