1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What's Better?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jtrice11, Dec 8, 2004.

1. jtrice11

jtrice11 LawnSite Senior Member

I'm just starting out. I live near Minneapolis Minnesota and have narrowed down my choices for buying equipment. I am debating on wether to go with a eXmark Laser Z (27hp Kohler), Toro Z (27hp Kohler) or Kubota Diesel. Which brand do you guys think is the better value??

I also am thinking pretty seriously about going with STIHL brand blowers and trimmers.
  2. Mo Green

Mo Green LawnSite Bronze Member

how many, and what kind of accounts do you have?
  3. out4now

out4now LawnSite Bronze Member
    from AZ

Just looked and the exmark has a diahatsu. Don't know anything about their small engines. Kubota and Yanmar make good small diesels. If you decide to go with diesel I'd look at the Kubota. Gas engine, probably the exmark with a Kawi.
  4. JCW-G

JCW-G LawnSite Member

Since you are asking which of the three is a better value, we would need to know the prices of each. If the three are your only choices, I would go with the kubota. Plus include the answer to the question posted by Mo Green.
  5. jtrice11

We have 1 commercial account that is 50 townhouses, a property developer with 4 small office buildings, and a small handful (less than 5) residential accounts. We plan to get as many additional accounts as possible.

The toro guy tells me the toro is a better unit than the eXmark, and he has one that is 800 dollars cheaper. The Kubota is about 2 grand more than both.
  6. JCW-G

JCW-G LawnSite Member