1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What's good on a hustler?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by chadwhick, Aug 26, 2006.

1. chadwhick

chadwhick LawnSite Member

I'm looking to buy a 60" hustler. What do you all have to say about a rear discharge deck as opposed to a side. all I've ever used is side.
    and also between kawasaki liquid cooled or the kohler 30 hp. What's your experience?
  2. tacoma200

tacoma200 LawnSite Fanatic

I've heard more negative than positve about the 30 hp Kohler but they may have the carb problems worked out. I have no experience with the rear discharge or Kawasaki's even though they are very popular. I would get the 27 or 28 efi. I know the Hustler takes alot of power or at least the super Z with the large pumps/motors. You could test drive the Kaw to see if it has enough torque for your purposes. I think the rear discharge is mainly for special applications and doesn't seem to be as popular. The only reason I can see for the rear discharge is maybe schools, playgrounds or other palaces you wanted to limit the discharge. I'm no expert but these are my thoughts. Lots of LCO's in FL like the Hustler. Seems like the XR7 is doing very well there. Good luck. I'm sure some Florida LCO's will help you with your decision here at Lawnsite.
  3. Shady Brook

Shady Brook LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Indiana

I have a 30 and a 27 on 60" Super Z's, and I prefer the 27. I would go EFI next time. I am not big on a Kaw, but woul opt for it over the 30. The 27 seems every bit as powerful and does not die like the 30 does when not warmed throughly. The 27 on the Old unit is much more responsive with little lag time compared to the 30.

The Super Z is built like a beast. Very heavy duty.