1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What's it like in Hawaii???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Vibe Ray, Nov 16, 2000.

1. Vibe Ray

Vibe Ray LawnSite Senior Member

Hey guys, anyone from Hawaii or been there? How is the Lawn-Maintainence/Landscaping business over there???Tell me all about it. Any comments would be highly appreciated! Thanx
  2. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

There is one guy on here, I know of, from Hawaii. He's in Maui. He posted about an uneven deck on his tractor, and that was the last I heard from him. Could you just imagine being there and taking care of maybe 5 or six of those lavish hotels on a full service basis?
  3. Vibe Ray

Yes, Runner I emailed him earlier today and am waiting for reply.
  4. I've been operating a small lawn care service on Oahu since 1985 and still hacking it! The business has always been good to excellant and I've managed to do well on a part-time basis. There are alot of landscapers/maintenance companies and alot of scrubs who have very little business savvy, so one has to 'KEEP THE PRICES HIGH'. Learn all you can about southern turfgrasses and consider using a good reel-mower for top drawer accounts. You will also need to think in terms of tropical plants rather than the customary mainland USA themes. If you start out with some good advertising in the local newspaper you will get some good accounts after some weeding out. Which brings me to certification. You will always have the advantage if your pesticide certifide with the state of Hawaii but the laws here are very lax on pesticide use and rarely enforced. That can change if too many srubs get careless with the roundup. 98% of the companies here used WB rather than ZTR.Hope this helps a little. Aloha,
  5. Toroguy

Toroguy LawnSite Bronze Member