Whats it worth? Portable Garage

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by BSDeality, Nov 28, 2006.

1. BSDeality

BSDeality LawnSite Silver Member

What do you reckon this Cover-It portable garage is worth? 12x30' round house with heavy duty fabric. 12' tall. It belongs to one of my customers and he is moving and doesn't have the means to relocate it. He previously stored a 22' boat in the winter in it. He paid $1800+shipping about 5 years ago for it.

I have no immediate use for it right now since I don't want to put it up on my property but I know it would be useful to have for a year or two down the road.

Whats it worth??

cover-it 001.jpg

cover-it 002.jpg

cover-it 003.jpg

cover-it 004.jpg
  2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Something isn't right here...
    That thing there is called an enclosed canopy.

I've been checking into these things for several years now, as a means of outdoor equipment storage...
    They have come down in price some, but not much.
    They usually start around $200 for an open 1-car canopy and they go up from there, but it's not nearly as ridiculous as solid storage sheds.

Now maybe it's the odd size or I haven't looked hard enough, but I can get a 20x30 for around $800 (thou it does say list $1100...)...
    Shipping does add a cool $200 to it, so almost a grand.
    If I had to pay list, $1,300 w/ shipping.
    And that's a 20x30, almost twice the size.
    Oddly enough, 10x30 is the next closest thing to this supposed 12x30.

So 1,800 sounds way high, either:
    He really said or meant 800...
    He paid 1800 to include delivery and installation, paid list, and the price having come down...
    It's very heavy duty canvas (and I mean heavier than the usual because they're all heavy duty).
    12 x 30 really is a very odd size...
    Or some combination of the above.

Then, it's used, so that deflates the price some more.