1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

whats the best walkbehind mulcher

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by whiteclifflawn, Apr 27, 2005.

1. whiteclifflawn

whiteclifflawn LawnSite Member

I have owen a 21hp 52" scag hydro for 4 years, and I have a great contract comming up and I need either a great mulch kit for mine, or a whole new mower. I realy am leaning toward a 36" walkbehind. I am new to mulching. never had so tight of yards. The brands I have been looking at are exmark, scag and gravely. these are the best dealer suport/quality suppliers in my area. give me some input.

2. Meg-Mo

Meg-Mo Inactive

Put MEG MO blades on with an ASC and you would be set to do the tight yards.
  3. Meg-Mo

Meg-Mo Inactive

Put on the MEG MO blades with the ASC closure and you will be set to do those small yards. A lot less money than trading.
  4. Scag48

Scag48 LawnSite Fanatic

My vote is for an Exmark TTHP 36". Hydro, floating deck, great mulcher, I run hi-lifts with the mulch kit and it mulches better with the hi-lifts than it does with the Excalibur mulching blades in most mowing conditions.
  5. johnnyusa

johnnyusa LawnSite Senior Member

My vote exmark tthp
  6. lwcmattlifter

lwcmattlifter LawnSite Senior Member
    from NC

How many hours a week do you need to use the smaller mower? If your not going to use it much I would get a 36" belt drive.
  7. Cut 2 Please

Cut 2 Please LawnSite Member