Whats the best way to get a big account?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by ubirajara83, Dec 14, 2006.

1. ubirajara83

ubirajara83 LawnSite Member

Hello im looking to get a community to cut, can anyone help or give me some advice. Also looking for a better proposal if n e one can help out would appreciate it.
  2. grassmanak

grassmanak LawnSite Senior Member

if your new to the business dont go after big accounts. Generally big accounts wants one of 2 things. Either a reputable company or a low bid. You need to build yourself of, then when its time present lots of bids at the right rate. Ive been doing this for 2 years now and still have not done a commercial job bigger than $50.00 a week. Next year im planning on bidding some apartment complexes and such to start it out.
  3. Tim Wright

Tim Wright LawnSite Bronze Member

Price, Price, Price.

Bidding the right price to JUST GET the account is also the easiest way to lose your shirt.

4. Tharrell

Tharrell LawnSite Silver Member

Think twice about big accounts. A big account really hurts when you lose it.
    One $1500 account versus 15 $100 accounts? I'd take the 15 anyday.
  5. nobagger

nobagger LawnSite Gold Member
    from Pa

Brand new to the industry? Leave it alone, get some freakin experience for God sakes. I've been doing this on my own since 2002 and had 5yrs of experience before that and we're just getting those "big" accounts and some have been good, some have been just ok, and the rest SUCKED! Test the water with a "piggy toe" before jumping both feet first. Most commercial accounts = penny pinching bean counter's,= lowest bidder, = no money for a lot of work!
  6. mojob

mojob LawnSite Senior Member