Whats the biggest problem

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Cheesedawg1, Dec 19, 2003.

1. Cheesedawg1

Cheesedawg1 LawnSite Senior Member
    from NJ

This is my first year in the lawn stuff and yada yada yada. For all of you that have been in this thing for years, what is the biggest problem you see with start up companies like mine and why they wont make it to far in this business?

2. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

Many just think its quick cash. They don't really understand this business isn't for the weak. Most find out they suck when the going gets tough and extremely hot. Cutting their own lawn once a week isn't the same as all day every day.

Another thing is lack of cash flow mgmt. Cash flow will make or break you. Period!

Trying to be a jack of all trades and a perfector of none. One of the biggest mistakes I've made in the past was doing to many things. I spread myself to thin that I worked my butt off, but wasn't profitable.

Not being consistent with quality or showing up regularly. Both and each will grow you or sink you. Your choice which it will be.

3. BigEd

BigEd LawnSite Senior Member
    from MD

You need to have good cash flow like stated AND a reserve. Cash flow was one of my hardest things when starting out, I mean I had the money to start but waiting on them invoices to come in is a b!tch!

Dont sell your self short,figure out your cost to operate and figure out your price from that.Find out the average market prices and take them into consideration.

4. 1grnlwn

1grnlwn LawnSite Bronze Member

Finding decent help and working too cheap. And one I still have problems with, Worrying about what the other guy is doing.

5. chefdrp

chefdrp LawnSite Bronze Member