whats the safe way of cutting alders?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by bigt8ck, Aug 9, 2006.

1. bigt8ck

bigt8ck LawnSite Member

i have been using a chainsaw for about 2 years now, and i have been landscaping my whole life, but just resently i got a offer to cut about 50 alders off a cliff, there all 10 to 14 in diameter trunks, i dont know what i should charge on this kind of job, i dont need to cut up or haul away alders just leave them at the bottom of the cliff, but cutting them on the cliff will not be easy, if anything happens i have very minimal space to react, also i have cut trees before, but ive been telling people about this job i got, and everyone ive talked to tells me to be carefull of the alders, they say there widow makers because the split so easy will your cutting them, what is the proper safe way to cut a alder, some alders are growing with a bow in them form growing off the side of the cliff. also what should i charge for cutting 50 alders?

2. sheshovel

sheshovel LawnSite Fanatic

In my opinion there is NO safe was to cut any trees on a cliff unless you have the proper equipment to do so and are fully trained to work in that manner.
    THis is not a job you want to do alone. If I were you I would refer the customer to a tree cutting company
    with a certified arborist on the payroll.
    Seriously it's not worth the money to take a risk like that cutting on a cliff.

3. bigt8ck

bigt8ck LawnSite Member