1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Whats up with the guys who park right in front of the lawns they are mowing?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Rons Rightway Lawncare, Sep 20, 2006.

1. Rons Rightway Lawncare

Rons Rightway Lawncare LawnSite Bronze Member

I have been doing this for over 12 years and can probably count on one hand the times I have parked in front of a lawn I am cutting. My truck is nice and I can't imagine spraying the side of it up with grass clippings and rocks and pebbles while edging and trimming...

I see lawn guys do this all the time and I shake my head in amazement of how they park their 30-50 thousand dollar trucks right in harms way!

Today I saw a guy who is doing a lot of lawns in a neighborhood I have 8 yards in. He parks right along the curb in front of the lawns he is doing and today I almost fell off my mower as he pulled up.... BOTH sides of his truck were absolutely plastered with dried up grass clippings. I don't think even if I tried I could get that much grass on a truck! :hammerhead:

Not to mention that these guys never really blow the street off well since the dam truck is in the way!

I always park in front of the next door neighbors house, or across the street.

Yeah I have had a few people complain that I am parking in front of their house and not the one I am cutting, but I nicely explain that I do this so I can keep my truck from getting damaged and so I don't leave grass clippings in the street. If the people still give me crap I tell them that it is legal to park in the street in front of their house, it is a legal right of way, and to go inside and stop bothering me!

Anyway, what is everyone else doing?
  2. dcgreenspro

dcgreenspro LawnSite Senior Member
    from PA